More 101 in 1001 updates!!

I had a pretty busy week with my list! I’m quite proud of myself. On Wednesday I was able to knock out 2 and 1/5 of my list. Yeah, I’m sure you’re wondering how I was able to do 1/5 of a task, but it’s pretty easy when one of the tasks is to read 5 books by 5 new authors.

Yup, I did it.

#58. Read books by 5 new authors.

 I read The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins. OMG! I don’t even care that it was a young adult book. So good. Easy read, lots of tough topics covered, and, a little brutal. Like, I’m not sure I’d feel comfortable letting my tween read it. I of course don’t feel like i”ll limit much of what my kids read, but I mmight put this on the later shelf!

So, I would totally be reading the 2nd and 3rd books in the trilogy right now except stupid me went and put it on my Christmas List and now I have to wait.

#74 – Get a massage.

DONE!! OMG, it had been 6 years since I had a massage and I can’t remember why I stopped. I mean, I”m sure it has something to do with the fact that I have a mortgage and three money sucking little monsters, but seriously. It was the best hour of my life, and I totally wish it were a 4 hour massage. Do they do those? Because I think it could be the start of something Fantabulous!!

#83 Create a book club!

So, when I was done creating my list, I decided I might need some form of accountability. I cruised my fingers over to facebook and posted my list as a note.  Almost immediately a friend said she’d join up if I did it. YAY!! I waited a week, looked around and decided, hell, I can do this. So I did.

I picked a day (The first Wednesday of the month) and picked the book (The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins) and sent out the FB invites.

I HAD INTEREST!!!

I became somewhat obsessive. I was checking the event daily, more than daily. Everytime I thought about it to see who was RSVP’ing. When people said yes I got gidddy, everytime there was a maybe I checked to see who it was. And, I”m being honest here, when I had a no, I made a face, looked at who it was and totally mumbled under my breath about them. lol

What can I say, I’m weird.

Anyways, the first meeting was on Wednesday and eight people showed up!! EIGHT! My mom offered to host it at her house, so we had snacks, wine, coffee and lots of discussion. I was so happy it turned out to be a success. And, I’m totally looking forward to next month when I get to do it all over again!

I’m even more proud of myself for starting the book club. It’s something I’ve wanted to do for years and never got around to it. So the proud meter is off the chart right now!

I’ll try to blog more, but you know, I ‘m not perfect!

3 responses to “More 101 in 1001 updates!!

  • Joscie, rhymes with bossy

    I’m glad you enjoyed the hunger games. I really enjoyed it. Jalen read it and I asked him if the brutality bothered him but he said it didn’t. Of course I wouldn’t let him read the hornet’s nest books… but he did read the hunger games. and then we followed up with the gregor the overlander books also by suzanne collins.

  • Nikki

    I’ve been hearing so much about Hunger Games. I’m going to have to see if my library has a copy. I wish I lived closer! It would be so nice to come to your book club meetings. 🙂 I may just have to follow along via email. Or Twitter….. 😉

Leave a Reply

